About Tenso Young Composers Workshop

The development of new choral repertoire is one of Tenso’s primary missions. Since 2010, the network organizes a series of workshops under the direction of composer/conductor James Wood and composer Leo Samama and with the participation of professional choirs, to encourage young composers to write for chamber choir. Using (fragments of) a score as starting point, the goal of the workshops is to make room for a significant contribution from all participants and to explore various elements such as dramatic effects, vocal range and colour, text setting, and other compositional tools.

The workshop sessions result in commissioning one of the composers to write a new work, to be premiered by one of the members of the Tenso network.

Until now, five editions have been organized, which resulted in the following awards:

Winner of the Tenso Young Composers Award 2016: Aftab Darvishi.

Winner of the Tenso Young Composers Award 2015: Sebastian Androne.

Winner of the Tenso Young Composers Award 2014: Georgi Sztojanov.

Winner of the Tenso Young Composers Award 2013: Eugene Birman.

Winner of the Tenso Young Composers Award 2011: Laurent Durupt.

The first round of the sixth edition will take place in Amsterdam 25-26 November 2016, during Tenso Days Amsterdam 2016.

The call for applications for the 2017-2018 edition will open in 2017. If you want to be informed about future calls, make sure to sign up for our newsletter and keep an eye on our Facebook page.

Tenso Young Composers Workshop is organized with the friendly support of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung and the Culture Programme of the European Union.