TYCW 2015 selection

sebastian androneSebastian Androne (Romania, 1989) was named after J.S. Bach and fittingly took his first musical steps at the keyboard (albeit a tiny electronic one) before switching to the clarinet. It was not long before he found out that his real interest lay with composing. Before twelfth grade, he had finished, among other pieces, a 3-parts symphony, a symphonic poem, a cinematic overture, a ballet…. He still studies composition at the National University of Music in Bucharest, now for his Doctorate in Music. In 2013, he studied a year as an Erasmus student at the Birmingham Conservatoire (UK).  For his symphonic piece Tektonum, he won the George Enescu Grand Prix; however, he calls his most prized accomplishment the letter of recommendation written by the composer Aurel Stroe in 2007.

Sebastian Androne in his own words
Sebastian’s soundcloud


5 : 7 HochformatThe compositions of Sofia Borges (Portugal, 1979) cover a wide scope of formations ranging from solo, duos, trios, ensemble, choir, orchestra to electronics and interactive music. She has become increasingly involved in collaborative work, composing music for theater, dance, short films, video and installation.

Before studying composition, computer music and multimedia at the Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa, she studied percussion and drums at the National Conservatory (Lisbon) and Hot Clube de Portugal (Luís Villas-Boas Jazz School). In 2013, she graduated as Master of Arts in Multimedia Composition at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Hamburg, Germany. Her activity as a percussionist and performer combined with her interest in ethnomusicology has led her to participate in concerts, festivals and conduct workshops all over Europe, Macao, Taiwan, Brazil, Australia and New Zealand.

Sofia’s website
Sofia’s soundcloud


chang shiuanChang  Shiuan 張玹 (Taiwan, 1989) completed his military service in Taiwan before he moved to Boston (US) where he now studies composition with Malcome Peyton at the New England Conservatory. In masterclasses and summer courses, he studied with Stefano Gervasoni, Phillippe Leroux and Peter Eötvös, among others, extending his interest in European music.

He was trained as pianist and won several competitions in Taiwan and abroad. He is the artistic director and co-founder of Hao-Dao Ensemble, based in Boston and New York, which is dedicated to performing, commissioning, and redefining new music from Asia. The ensemble made its debut at Jordan Hall, Boston, in October 2014, followed by a New York debut at Merkin Hall in November 2014.

Chang’s website


leo collinLéo Collin (France, 1990) is a Geneva-based composer, performer and installation artist working in the field between instrumental, electronics, video and performance. He studied composition with Michael Jarrell, Luis Naon, Brice Pauset, Georges Aperghis, Beat Furrer, Isabel Mundry, Brian Ferneyhough, and Pierluigi Billone in Lyon, Geneva, Freiburg and Paris.

His recent work concentrates on sound morphing, including and emphasizing the physical and choreographic aspects of the performance. The work often includes amplified acoustic instruments in combination with sampler, video, lights or everyday objects and homemade constructions.. He writes: “A piece for choir is a particular moment. There is something very magical, something irreal, intemporal, very difficult to explain, but it is here.”

Léo’s soundcloud
Léo’s longer biography


sean o dalaighSeán Ó Dálaigh (Ireland, 1987) is a composer from county Kerry in Ireland. He holds a Bachelors degree in music from the CIT Cork School of Music. Séan is now based in Amsterdam where he is studying for a masters degree in composition at the Conservatorium van Amsterdam with Richard Ayres and Wim Henderickx.

His chamber work ‘surface tension’ was premiered by the Asko|Schönberg ensemble in Den Haag and Amsterdam in March 2015. His work will be featured on the 2015 Gaudeamus Muziekweek as part of an event focusing on graduating master students.

Seán’s website
Seán’s soundcloud