Tenso Young Composers Workshop 2016 first round

The first round of the 2016 edition of the Tenso Young Composers Workshop took place in Mechelen (13-15 May 2016) during Tenso Days Mechelen 2016. Five young composers worked with Latvijas Radio Koris, James Wood and Leo Samama.

Selected composers

The five composers that have been selected to participate in the 2016 edition are:

  • Aftab Darvishi (IR)
  • Piyawat Louilarpprasert (TH)
  • Alejandro Mata (MX)
  • Aled Smith (UK)
  • Sophie Sparkes (UK)

Meet them here: you’ll find short biographies, as well as links to their Soundcloud pages.

Aftab, Piyawat and Sophie have been selected to continue to the second round, that will take place in Copenhagen on 24and 25 October 2016, working with Helsingin kamarikuoro. More information about the second round will follow.


About Tenso Young Composers Workshop

The development of new choral repertoire is one of Tenso’s primary missions. Using (fragments of) a score as starting point, the goal of the workshops is to make room for a significant contribution from all participants and to explore various elements such as dramatic effects, vocal range and colour, text setting, and other compositional tools.

The workshop sessions result in an award, consisting of a commission to write a new work, to be premiered by one of the members of the Tenso network. Read more about Tenso Young Composers Workshop.

Latvijas Radio Koris