Tenso Young Composers Workshops in 2016

In 2016, we organize several activities for young composers:


Tenso Young Composers Workshop 2016-2017

The new call for composers is now open !

Five or six young composers will be invited to join us in Amsterdam (the Netherlands) from 24 to 27 November 2016  for the Tenso Days Amsterdam. The second round of the workshop – for which three composers will be selected – will take place in Mechelen in May 2017.

More information 

Tenso Young Composers Workshop 2016

The second round of the 2016 workshop will take place in Copenhagen from 24-25 October.

The first round of Tenso Young Composers Workshop 2016 took place in May during Tenso Days Mechelen 2016. Meet the five young composers that were selected to take part and have a look at photos of the sessions (Facebook) or take a photo tour of Tenso Days Mechelen (smugmug).

The selected composers for the second round are:

  • Aftab Darvishi (IR)
  • Piyawat Louilarpprasert (TH)
  • Sophie Sparkes (UK)

More information about time and place of the workshop sessions in Copenhagen will follow.

EXTRA Tenso Workshop Composing for Choir and Electronics

Together with the Centre for Music & Technology of the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki, we organized a special workshop for composing for choir and electronics. Four young composers had the opportunity to work in detail on creating a new composition with coaches Marco Stroppa and Paola Livorsi, Helsingin kamarikuoro under James Wood, and students and staff of Sibelius Academy.

Tenso Young Composers Workshop 2015 – second round

The second round of the 2015 workshop took place in Marseille in February 2016. The first round had taken place almost a year before, in Mechelen in May 2015, where five composers worked with Musicatreize.

Three composers were selected to come to Marseille, to work with Musicatreize and coaches Roland Hayrabedian, Leo Samama and James Wood :

  • Sebastian Androne (RO)
  • Sofia Borges (PT)
  • Léo Collin (FR)

After the workshop, Sebastian Androne received Tenso Young Composers Award 2015. Read the jury report here. 


Picture: Tenso Young Composers Workshop in Mechelen May 2016. From left to right: Alejandro Mata, Sophie Sparkes, Aled Smith, James Wood (workshop leader), Piyawat Louilarpprasert, Leo Samama (workshop leader), Aftab Darvishi